cOAlition S is an informal alliance of organisations and institutions that fund and/or perform research activities, and that have publicly expressed their intention to work together towards the implementation of the principles of Plan S.  cOAlition S does not have any autonomous legal capacity. The individual organisations remain fully responsible for implementing their Plan S-aligned Open Access policies, as stated in the cOAlition S Terms of Reference.

The cOAlition S Office was set up in January 2020 and is hosted by the European Science Foundation (ESF) in Strasbourg, to support the work of cOAlition S.

Johan Rooryck, Professor of French Linguistics at Leiden University is the Executive Director of cOAlition S and is responsible for the representation of cOAlition S and oversees the work of the cOAlition S office. Robert Kiley, formerly Head of Open Research at the Wellcome Trust, is the Head of Strategy and is responsible for publisher relations and strategic initiatives. Nora Papp-Le Roy acts as the programme manager of the cOAlition S office at the European Science Foundation, and is responsible for implementing the cOAlition S work plan.

cOAlition S: Governance & Organisational Structure


Budget for supporting the cOAlition S Office  

Activity  Spending 2020 (EUR)  Spending 2021 (EUR) 
Human resources & related  273700  427000 
Software development  334000  287400 
Communication  5250  6250 
Commissioned studies   30000  34000 
Legal & administrative  13700  18750 
Total  665650  773400 

The cOAlition S Office staff and activities are funded by cOAlition S funders’ contributions and grants. Human resources represented 2.3 FTE in 2020 and 2.8 FTE in 2021, including staff and consultancy. Software development mainly covered the costs of developing the Journal Checker Tool and the Journal Comparison Service. The Commissioned studies in 2020 and 2021 covered the work with Small independent publishers (SPA OPS) and Open Access Diamond Journals Study (OADJS). More information about our activities is available in the annual report.